Actions

2004-01-06 at 6:43 p.m.


I was having a talk with a friend of mine about magic.

I myself practice an earth-centered spirituality that has a conglomeration of influences from Kinetic to Wiccan to my native American roots. Magic is a part of my spirituality.

My friend was once a practicing pagan who then followed Christianity and is once again feeling her pagan influences.

I discovered the natural energies of magic long before I started on my spiritual path. I have been practicing magic since my early teens while only walking my spiritual path, as it is now, since my twenties.

My friend walked her spiritual path since her teens, and even while following the neo-pagan ways, only dabbled in the natural energies of magic slightly, perfering the spiritual aspects of religions.

She now believes herself to be the victim of a stalker. Mundanely and magically.

When she first brought this up to me, it was all I could do not to laugh. (I think I did, I'm sorry.) Then I realized she was serious, and very worried. (At which point I felt really small for my humorous reaction!) She had been following a neo-pagan path since her teens, while I had only been following one since my twenties. I really thought she would have had a better understanding of things.

Then I realized that she hadn't dealt with all the fundamentals of magic that I had learned at a very early age.

It's funny. Some people don't realize that magic and spirituality don't have to go hand in hand. Most people assume that if you practice one system, you automatically practice the other.

I started out working with one system, she started out working with the other. She is the single most important reason that I found the other system, my spirituality. While I always believed in......something, she was the one that came into my life and gave me a direction to focus on and began me on my current path. I don't think she knew she was doing that. I don't think she realized how much of an influence she was on me finding my spirituality. I owe her a great deal for that wonderful gift and thank The Lord and Lady that she came into my life at that time. No matter how our relationship has changed over the years and the distance that seperates us, she will always hold a very special place in my heart and my thoughts.

You can imagine that the thought of how troubled she was over this threat bothered me. I tried to calm her worries and told her to make sure she covered all the mundane things first, which she assured me she had. Then I told her to do the magical protection things that she knew. I didn't know what else to tell her at that time. She said she was thinking about doing a complicated working that she thought would help her protect herself with the person who was stalking her. I tried my best to talk her out of it. The person stalking her is a novice working with the natural energies of magic, but so is she.

If my friend were to go to any reputable and experienced (I'm not talking about some new age, I read a couple of books and took an on-line course) practictioner of magic, they would tell her what I tried to last night. Knowledge of magic is not the same as practicing it.

Some of the simplest and automatic things to an experienced person is entirely too difficult for the novice. Yes, there is no right way or wrong way to do one thing. But that doesn't mean that just anything will work.

Yes, magic requires a strong force of will, but it also requires a huge amount of concentration and a specific direction. Asking diety for help can make the working more powerful, but it can also get the petitioner slapped upside the head by said diety. Goddess forbid the pettitioner ask several dieties from different pantheons to aid them at the same time and they just might find themselves in a celestial (Celtic, Kinetic, Greek ad infinitem) catfight, so to speak.

Anyone can harness the natural energies that are all around us. Even non-magical people - we'll call them Muggles just because it amuses me to - can cast simple spells without realizing they are doing it. But these are very simple and very weak and almost tantamount to not to have happened in the first place. The novice can manipulate these energies. More often than not the energies are scattered too thin to have any real working power or they do more damage to the practitioner than anyone else.

I wish I could set my friends mind at ease, that what she fears might happen probably won't. I wish I could take all of my knowledge and experience and transfer it to her. I think the only thing I CAN do, is to work my own protective magic for her and to tell her to tell the novice in question that an experienced witch is on the job, and if he continues to bother her, he will start to feel the fall out of his own actions.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->