The Da Vinci Code

2004-04-15 at 9:23 a.m.


You know, DLand sucks balls. I'm not talking interesting ones either, I'm talking about that person who followed you around in high school because you happened to be nice to them one time and now you can't get rid of them, so's DLand decides to help you out by sucking their balls, only they don't have the decency to not tell you about it.

I had an LONG entry last night. Got it all wrote up, named and tagged, hit the "Done!" button and damn! It disappeared.

Along with my access to the rest of DLand. What? Was I being punished for not updating for four days? Here's a hint Andrew, I prefer to be spanked when I'm being a bad girl. Although, with the current balls you're salivating over, it probably wouldn't be an adequate spanking either.

Speaking of spanking, l-malfoy is currently writing an alternate ending to her fic. Yes! *doing the Quiet Flames happy dance*

I finished reading "The Da Vinci Code" by Dan Brown and I loved it. The man did an excellent research on the project and it wasn't as predictable as I thought it was going to be. In fact, the twist ending really surprised me.

I've run across a lot of the information that he imparts in this book on my own, being somewhat of a symbology buff, but he takes it to a level that I had yet to chance upon.

I had heard that the story caused a lot of flack in the Christian circles, but had assumed it to be for debunking the religion as a whole. That is not what this book did. It brought out some of the history and showed the changes that the early church wrought to bring it to a certain light that they wanted it to be viewed in, but it didn't try to bring down the religion. In fact, in my opinion, it did more to support it.

I can see where the critism comes to play though. After 1500 years of shaping the religion to be portrayed in a certain light, it's understandable that people not aquanted with the actual history of those times to be pissed and think it an attempt to undermine their spiritual belief system.

I know my mother's husband wouldn't find this book very entertaining or in the least bit enlightening. He is a very spiritual man that doesn't subscribe to any denomination of Christianity, but is a Christian, none the less. His take is, The Bible is The Word. Period. He's got a happy medium of literal tanslation and figurative translation going on and he's smart enough to research the actual words used in the original manuscripts to get a better understanding of what the books are trying to impart.

At the same time, he doesn't think the history, political or religious has any bearing on The Word. He won't think about the facts that the contents of The Bible were voted on as to what it contains and what it doesn't contain. He absolutely will not think about the fact that the divinity of Jesus was voted on and decided at the same time, that before this point, Jesus was a good Jewish boy who was thought of by many as a prophet.

I've brought him some good (read aqurate) translations of some of the books that didn't make it in The Bible, wrote by the same people whose other transcripts made it in, and his retort to a sampling of them has been "Those aren't right" and the refusal to read more in depth.

Yes, I can understand the outcry of the vileness and blasphomy of this book by certain peoples.

Not being a Christian myself, it's easier for me to take a look at what is being said, and see that this is not a book trying to tear the religion apart and bring it to an end. In my opinion, it's merely adding another facet to the religion, while still upholding the religion itself.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->