Impassioned Words

2004-07-06 at 9:10 p.m.


I am soooo tired. I'll be glad when I can have a real, honest to goodness day off (as opposed to having to go in at way-to-early in the morning to open the store for others).

________________________________________

I got three new cook books today and can't wait to try some of the recipes. There's a couple of salmon recipes in there that sound really good (and they don't involve poaching, it's grilling!)

________________________________________

I got googled for "spanking snape fanfiction" AND "Geoffrey Rush". How cool is that?!

________________________________________

Go wish debyhelen a early happy birthday. Her special day is on the 12th.

________________________________________

Speaking of birthdays, Mom got home today and we had a little celebration at my house. Me, the kids, the Sibling and Mom. It was pretty fun. We didn't have a cake cause we didn't know if she'd be up to all of that, what with all of Pops troubles, but we did have a fun time just spending some of it together.

The Boy Childs birthday is tomorrow. We've picked out the cake (I'm too tired to make one) and some how I've got to get to the store tomorrow, without the young 'uns, and get his presents. He's having a friend spend the night and he gets to have dinner at the restaurant of his choice. (His choice being the all you can eat buffet)

________________________________________

A lot of people are being stalked in Dland by people they know in RL lately and being forced off the air to maintain their privacy.

Being the paranoid person I am, I get around this by not telling anyone in RL that I have a diary here. Hell, I pretend not to even know about this place. (The two noticable exceptions being tattodnanny and golfwidow whom I trust explicitly)

Some of these people happen to be my favorite diaries and it's really sad that other people are causing them problems to such an extreem that they feel the need to withdraw. It seems that the reality shows aren't enough to fuel peoples entertainment quota any longer and they have to resort to their own personal drama, invading other peoples lives. When they can't do it in the real world, they invade the sanctity of the thoughts put down in words in a diary.

Granted, I know that this is a PUBLIC diary and anyone can read an unlocked one, but it seems that the very title of this domain - Diaryland - would seem to preclude a certain amount of discretion. I think that's a trait that's fastly diminishing and losing it's meaning in todays world.

When I first stumbled onto the net, it astounded me that people seem to feel that since there's no face to go along with the words, it gives free license to be rude, nosey, and obnoxious. All the mannerisms and behaviors that we reserve for civilized communications seems to go out the window when it comes to being on the net.

When I came here, I realized that it wasn't just on the net. Most of the problems encountered, that force people to withdraw from this community, involve RL aquaintances.

I should have realized this. Almost every day, I'm shocked to see how people behave towards one another. I'm constantly taken off guard by people who do or say things that just blow my mind as being rude, crass or inappropriate. I don't want to come off sounding like an uptight stuffed-shirt, but it does bother me. When I was growing up, it was simply called manners and being polite. Now it's evidently not a quality that's being passed on in the mainstream.

Not that every one is crass and rude. It just seems to be more and more the norm. Maybe I'm being to sensitive. I'm just going to miss all these diaryists, who are people that I've come to respect and enjoy through their unorganized, mundane and often impassioned words.

drinking: Does Snickers ice cream count as a drink?
listening to: Bon Jovi's Slippery When Wet
thinking: I'm tired and need to get some sleep










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->