Lunch for Breakfast

2009-05-18 at 9:59 a.m.


I had lunch for breakfast this morning. I get so tired of the same thing all the time. It also gets tiring trying to think of something to fit all the requirements of my diet.

I'm diabetic so I have to stay away from refined sugars. I have high blood pressure and high triglycerides so I stay away from cholesterol and fats. I'm also trying to lose that weight I gained while I wasn't working. I don't want to skip on essential vitamins and minerals but I don't want to take vitamins or supplements. (I have enough pills to take!) Don't forget the fiber. Goddess knows, I want everything to run smoothly in that department and it helps one to feel full longer. (Something I desperately need!) Lastly, I have to actually like it. I'm just not going to put anything in my mouth that I don't like the taste of. (Don't even go there...)

As a result, I don't eat red meat (except one day a month. You can probably guess which part of the month...) or pork. I stay away from anything that has large amounts of refined sugars or starches. I count calories.

I'm constantly trying new things to include in my diet. I've discovered there's a lot of misrepresented products out there and a lot of healthy food that's just absolutely disgusting. (The Girl Child just had to try tofu.)

I'm very knowledgable about nutrition and how my body in particular reacts to it. I'm also an encyclopedia of caloric amounts and am very deft at calculating how many calories are in a mixed food such as a casserole.

I also know what I like and what I don't. If I find something new, I'm quick to make a decision about whether it stays in our family recipe collection or it gets tossed to a less discerning person.

But, some days, I just get tired of all that. So today I had lunch for breakfast. Go me!

drinking: Iced tea
listening to: Joan Jett - Crimson and Clover
thinking: Not much of anything










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->