One of Those Moments

2009-04-05 at 12:24 p.m.


A few years ago, it suddenly occured to me that The Mom and I really did have some great moments together. They're the little things that take about 2-5 minuets in our lives and then are, generally, forgotten. Since then, I've tried to spot those moments in my life, while they're happening. It doesn't always become clear that THAT was a moment, but some times, you get lucky.

I had one of those moments with The Girl Child yesterday. The hummingbirds are back and I was standing at the living room window watching a young male fend off another male from his feeder. We had put up several of our seasonal feeders a couple of weeks back for the song birds as well. All of a sudden a finch (I'm not really sure whether it was or not) landed on one of the feeders put up on a tree right in front of the house. Well, the winning hummingbird decided to take up post on a branch of this tree and keep watch on his feeder.
The Girl Child happened along about this time and asked what I was looking at. When I told her she stood there and watched with me. Next thing we know, a male and two female cardinals showed up. The male was frisky and chasing after both females, alternately, around the tree. Then a bluejay showed up. I like the birds, but they tend to chase away all the others when they arrive. This time, he just hopped around the branches of the tree. Next to show up was two young mourning doves getting their courting on. Then, yes, there's more, a mockingbird shows up. (They tend to chase the others away as well, but not this time.) Last, but not least, a squirell jumps into the mix.

Me and The Girl Child stood there untill it was too dark to see, watching all of this life hopping around our tree. I had never seen so many varieties of birds and a squirell in that tree all at one time in the 12 years we have lived here. Usually, we get only one or two varieties at once and they usually get spooked after a few minutes and fly away.

I knew about 2 minutes in, that this was one of THOSE moments between me and my daughter. Both of us standing side by side and watching The Lord and Lady's creatures living their life and parting some warm and fuzzy entertainment to the two humans standing behind the glass. I hope The Girl Child remembers this in the same way I do.

drinking: Iced tea
listening to: Johnny Test
thinking: And now it's raining.....










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->