Happy Birthday to Me!

2009-04-22 at 8:51 a.m.


Technically, that was yesterday. But, I didn't get a chance to sit down and write.

The Mom took me out for a birthday lunch at "Bogey's". It's a local fine dining establishment that has modeled itself after the Humpfrey Bogart Hollywood era. Along with the wonderful furnishings and accents of the era, it also boasts a fantastic collection of autographed pictures of some of the major stars of the time.

My favorite is Audrey Hepburn. I joked with The Mom that Audrey was my favorite, but I think I turned out more like Katherine. Mom said she did as well, as she tried to spear a breaded mushroom and sent it flying across the table instead. (Her tremors were really bad that day.) I replied, "That's ok. I'll play Joe DeMaggio and catch the flying food." She promptly reminded me of the unusualy (for me) high heeled shoes I had worn and we both decided to forgo the baseball theatrics.

After lunch, she took me to a local clothes shop and let me pick out a couple pieces. (I regreted the heels at this point, as I don't get a chance to wear heels very often and am not very confident in them. But I had won them on Ebay for $5.50 with free shipping. By Goddess, I WAS going to wear them someplace!) I found a coutre t-shirt in a wonderful Slytherin green and silver and a nice top I could wear to work and look nice but still do all the work I have to do.

When I got home, I had five minutes to get ready and leave for work. Basically, all I did was change from heels to flats. Not much time for anything else. (Much to my annoyance later at work.)

The weather was supposed to be mainly sunny with a few clouds. About five-thirty it suddenly got real dark and then it opened up and just poured! I'm talking a real gully wash. It lasted all of fifteen minutes. I walked outside after most of it had gone and there was the most brilliant rainbow. Never had I seen one so perfectly arched and complete. It was breathtaking. There was another complete rainbow over this one. It wasn't as Vivid, it was barely there, but the combination of the two together was amazing. A customer pulled up and we stared at it a few minutes then we walked inside so I could wait on him. When I got back outside it was gone. I silently thanked The Lord and Lady for such a wonderful birthday present and carried a smile with me the rest of the night.

I had a blessed birthday.

drinking: Leaded with all the usual
listening to: QVC (not that I've ever bought anything off the show)
thinking: I think 40 is going to be great!










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->