Nutcases

2004-04-27 at 9:32 p.m.


I think I died and some how ended up in the Christian's Hell.

On March 31st, two days after The Bear high-tailed it, Droopy came to work at That-Place-That-Pays-Me-To-Be-There.

Droopy is The Boss Lady's sister-in-law, whom along with her husband - Dumpy, just moved to town about two weeks before The Bear and I tied the knots of our relationship. (Maybe it should have been a noose) ANYways.....

While I was having a three day nervous breakdown, Lady Bimbo started training Droopy in the deli; keeping in mind that Lady Bimbo is only barely trained herself. I went back to work on April second and continued to work nights with Droopy (Lady Bimbo promptly leaving for a twelve day vacation).

Now, I didn't have a problem with Droopy. She was a very sweet woman, but we just didn't have anything in common, so the nights tended to be longer than usual with a lot of silences between us.

The first few days were ok. She was really slow, but I figured that was just because she was new and pretty soon she'd get the hang of it. Her and Dumpy started trying to do the Wally World runs (The ones The Bear used to do) and weren't doing a real good job of it. Me and Little Miss (She's semi-retired and has been with this place for about a year longer than me) tried being real specific in our lists, but they continually got the wrong items, even ones they were specifically told NOT to get. I figured, "Ok, just give them time."

As the days wore on, Droopy would take things upon herself to do that shouldn't have been. I started trying to correct the things that she either didn't learn correctly or wasn't taught. After all, she was kind of thrown in there with little guidance and had to fend for herself. I figured I could make things easier by kind of explaining things to her.

She didn't take to me "teaching" her how to do her job and was quick to tell me that Lady Bimbo or The Boss Lady told her different. My responce being, Lady Bimbo wasn't exactly fully trained in the deli and she must have misunderstood The Boss Lady, which I - being the manager - talked to The Boss Lady to verify that I was passing on the right information.

Twice she was informed that she needed to adjust her grill temperature to a higher setting to 1) sear the meats locking in the juices 2) expedite the cooking 3) to maintain consistancy in the kitchen between different cooks and 4) BECAUSE THE BOSS LADY WANTS IT DONE THAT WAY!.

Tonight, I observed her cooking on the lowest temperature again so walking up to her and standing beside her, I told her she needed to turn the grill up and cook the burgers on high. She knealt down to look at the flame, adjusted the flame a teensy bit and went back to staring at the burgers. I said, "No, hun. Just turn it all the way up so that the grill gets good and hot and sears the meat." She taps the knob, adjusting the flame another teensy bit, then turns her back on me and continues with what she was doing.

"O..K," thinks I and walks back up to my register where I promptly start doing the rest of my job. Droopy totally ignores me the rest of the night.

When I got home, I called The Boss Lady and told her what happened. I told her that I think I pissed her off, that wasn't my intention and have no clue what happened. The boss Lady say's that Droopy does the same thing to her and won't listen to how things are supposed to be done.

Then I discover that Droopy has been saying things to The Boss Lady about my behavior in the store that just wasn't true. Luckily, The Boss Lady knows me real well and knew I'd never do what Droopy was saying I did. (Also, the fact that we have video survellance and The Boss Lady can watch it, helped me a lot as well.)

I have no idea what Droopy is trying to accomplish, but all I'm thinking is, "Why the Hell do I get all the nutcases?"

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->