One Chapter

2009-03-18 at 8:45 a.m.


I know, it's been 8 days since I've jumped on the computer. I had decided to make a comittment (at least to myself) to write at least every other day. It's funny how life can intrude on the best laid plans.

The Owner Lady at My Place of Employment has talked her daughter into working for her a few days a week and I've once again gone back to a five day a week schedule. Yay! I've also received my fourth raise in a little over two months and just can't believe my luck in finding this job. In the nine years I worked at my former place of employment, I had only received four raises.

I've read four books in the last week. Yeah, I know. I could have put the things aside for a few minutes to update, but you know....Once you start a book you get so caught up in it you have to read till it's done.
First was "Getting My Think On" by golfwidow. This was a lot of little snipets of the authors life (Brain Confetti thrown in for just the right amount of mixing) that had the unique ability to make one remember their own personal history that was similar (but totaly different!) It was a wonderful trip through the nostalgia of my life.

Next was Phillpa Gregory's "the Queen's Fool". This was another of her books set in the Tudor times and although I love the characters she's writing about, the underlying theme of these books are surprisingly the same and after the fourth book in this series, I think I'm gonna take some time before reading the next. It's starting to get the feel of reading Harlequin (which I detest.) The same story wrapped in different paper. Although I will admit, her writing and spicing is much better than most of the dime a dozen romance dramas.
"Make Them Cry" by Kevin O'Brien was next. A good story, if a little too drawn out. I have a feeling his books are based on the same formula though. I'm currently reading another book by him and the similarities are dissapointing. More about that when I finish the current book.
"The End of Alice" by A.M. Homes was next. It's definately not a book for the perusal of the general reader. I got it to indulge my somewhat morbid fascination with the evil, deviants of the world. It's sort of like my attraction to Hannibal Lector. Only I'm still fond of Hannibal, but loathe the main character in this story. It's like reading a De Sade novel (Only not as eloquent in the wording nor philosophical in nature.) Don't think I'll make that trip again with this author.

I have tomorrow off work (Yay!) so I'll update more then.

drinking: Leaded with cream and Splenda
listening to: Some drivel on TV
thinking: Only one chapter left........










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->