PETA

2003-08-19 at 9:29 p.m.


Hhmm. Well I was all set to add lemongrass2 as a favorite of mine. She signed my gbook in a very nice way, she loves Alan and Snape (Yes, kudos here) and what could be a better qualifier for me to add her as a favorite?

But then, I went to read her diary and recieved a shock. She's a member of PETA and is very proud of it and even excuses their sometimes bad (i.e. illegal and inhumane) actions geared toward animal freedom. (Notice I did NOT say animal rights or treatment.)

I am a huge animal rights believer and I actively get involved in my local area. As a pagan, I belive that it's my duty and responsibility to help with the abuses.

That being said, I am not a vegitarian. I eat meat. The Lord and Lady made us that way and I have no desire to tell them they are wrong. I have no problem with people that are vegetarians/vegans and totally except that they are doing whats best for them. It's a personal choice.

I have a problem with PETA. Some of their actions are the total opposite of what they preach. They are not for the humane treatment/care of animals. They are for the total freedom of animals. Yes, that sounds all good and fluffy on the surface, but when it comes down to it, they would rather put the animals in extreme danger and in perilous situations, sometimes causing the death of these animals just to make a point. Tell me where the humanity is in that!

I'm a member of PETA - People Eating Tastey Animals. I'm consciencious about it, (Free range meat, anyone? Let's never eat at KFC again....) but I do eat meat.

I really wanted to add lemongrass as a favorite, but I'm not going to just on principle. I'm sorry. The girl seems like a really nice person and she didn't do anything to me. These are my opinions, it's my diary. Don't bother telling me what a bad person I am or flaming me in my gbook, you'll just get deleted. (If I can figure out how.....)

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->