Harry Potter and My Thoughts

2003-07-04 at 10:14 p.m.


As promised; my opinion of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. My very first gut reaction was dissapointment.

I mean, it was really great, right up untill the talk in Dumbledore's office at the end. I guess with all the build up in between the last book and this one, I expected a lot more than what was delivered. I thought something was gonna be revealed that we didn't already know or guess or at least something that wasn't so readily obvious to the readers. It was like a major let down. I kept thinking, "That's it?"

Yes, ok. I've had a couple days to think about it now and I guess I'm not as dissapointed as I was.

First the critisisms (sp?). One: Harry watched his Mother get murdered when he was one year old. How come he couldn't see the Threstrals when he first came to Hogwarts? Quierrel died right in front of him, why didn't he see the Threstrals taking all of them to the Hogwarts Express after the end of his second year? I'm open for clarification on this matter to whomever would like to explain it to me.

Two: Harry isn't stupid. (Even though his character is like low man on the totem pole in my favorites list, I would never say the boy was stupid.) How come he didn't remember the package that Sirius gave him? He's 15. Do you remember being 15? If the only person left in the world that I considered family gave me something and told me not to open it till later, I'd be burning up with curiosity untill I could open that package. Yes, I realize that he was going through a lot at the time, but please! He never gave it another thought in five months?! It was the first thing I thought of when he was trying to figure out how to get in touch with Sirius. The only purpose I can even see in introducing this, is that it will be used in the next book.

Three: Cho. Such a build up for nothing.

I have a few other small details that irk me, but they're minor and could be solved with some cleaver bits in the two remaining books, so I'll leave them alone for now.

Now for the praises: One: Fred and George. Wow! They did me so proud! They may not be destined for greatness, so to speak, but they definately have what it takes. I've always quite admired them for knowing exactly who they are and not trying to be what others want them to be.

Two: Ginny. I love how her character evolved. I heard a lot of people say that they thought that her and Harry's character would make an interesting pair. I never gave it much credance till now.

Three: Luna. Believe it or not, I totally love this character! She knows how she's perceived by others but doesn't let it get to her. She's intelligent (even if she is a little TOO open to some of the wilder rumors and gossiping) and she's forthright.

Four: SEVERUS SNAPE! I love him even more (if that's possible)! (And no, not just because Alan Rickman plays his character in the movies - although that brings a lovely visual to mind!) What can I say? I just love the mean and twisted good guys.

As far as the story goes, I loved every bit of it till the end. I don't exactly hate the ending or even dislike how it ended. It just felt, to me, like she was too preoccupied with another plot line to give this piece of the story the attention it deserved. All the same, I can't wait for the next one. Hopefully, some more of those questions will be answered.

I could on for another long while about my thoughts to all the specifics, but it would be exceptionaly long and I'm quite tired after all the festivities of the fourth. My Mom's birthday and the fireworks and all. So, I'm gonna end this now and write about the fourth tomorrow. Happy Independance Day, by the way!

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->