Three Months of Spam

2005-01-21 at 8:24 p.m.


It's been......what? Three months? I think I've forgotten how to navigate this computer thing.

I'll start by first saying that I took the computer down to the fix it shop and had them remove the parasites that were infesting my hard drive. Unfortunately, when they removed the parasites, they also removed the files that they were attached to. Important files. I know they were important because my computer ceased to work after that.

I was told I had to re-upload my system (? - forgive me, I know not what I'm talking about!) which would restore it back to the original programming like when I first brought it home. Best I copy and save all of my files since the reloading of the original system would erase all the stuff I had put in the damn machine for the last THREE YEARS!!!!

Did I ever tell anyone how computer illiterate I was/am?

Well, the CD-RW was permenately damaged so I had to figure out how to save to a floppy disk. Turned out it wasn't so hard to do. Also turned out the Floppies don't hold that much information either. I actually had to lose several pictures because the floppies weren't big enough to hold them. (Alan!!! I'm SOOOOO sorry!)

After working this out, I put the recovery disk in and reloaded or whatever it was and got a working computer for all my troubles. (Yay! I can ride the waves again! - Have I used enough exclamation points in this piece? Can you tell how ecstatic I am?)

Of course I can't figure out how to get Outlook express to check my mail for me. I have to keep going to my ISP's site to open my mail. (And oh my Goddess! You should have seen the piles of Spam just waiting to be opened...)

It's been a rather long and hard three months since I've been gone from Dland. I'll write much more tomorrow and share my non-life with all of my cyber friends.

A few personal notes - golfwidow thank you for the Happy Holiday card. I'm so sorry I didn't get one out to you and also the anniversary card that is still sitting on my desk. You and That Man of Yours was in my thoughts if not in the mail box.

cornflake1, thank you for trying to keep in touch. Sorry I was away for so long!

Tenshi - Where are you!? Can't get to Pottersville!!!

l-malfoy *Gasp* Where's the Flames?!

tattodnanny - You've helped a lot these last few months. Just wanted to say Thanks. *HUGS*

drinking: Back to my iced tea with Splenda
listening to: My kids trying their best to trash the house
thinking: The worlds not a really nice place to be sometimes










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->