I'm Not a Stalker , I Just Feed the Gators

2004-01-30 at 7:59 a.m.


Most people have some level of obsessiveness in their personalities. Face it, it's a human trait.

You see that cute little dress at the mall and you just have to have it. Now in the rational world, the rest of your particular circumstances will instantly insert themselves into your brain. You know, can I spare the extra expenditure right now, is there something more important I need to do with the extra cash, will my Husband kill me for bringing home yet ANOTHER dress that will sit in my closet forever because I have absolutely no where to wear it too?

Yes, you still want the dress and you think about it for a couple of days and then, if you decide to not get it, you put it out of your mind. (Forget this whole scenario if you have a shopping disorder, which is a whole other potion base.)

Most people can override their obsessive tendencies pretty easily, or with a minimum of effort.People who have Obsessive Disorders are different. The scarey thing about this is that most people aren't diagnosed and given any kind of help till things get way out of control. Untill the aflicted person does something either dangerous to themselves or someone else or untill the person's life has gotten so far out of control they loose themselves to their obsessions.

One of the most common reasons for not being diagnosed, is the failure to properly account for an action or feeling. What can accurately be called a manifestation of a full blown obsession is all to often put down as a different, less complicated motivation for the action or feeling.

What would accurately be called stalking behaviour, the Obsessive person would rationalize as "selfish" behaviour. A much less frightening and more easily handled pattern. It's also really easy, in the intital stages, to convince the object of obsession and themselves of the factuality of this false motivation.

It's also at this point, that the Obsessive person can become dangerous if they don't recognize what is happening and seek help.

My Obsessive Disorder is a mild case and I've learned to channel the tendencies to more productive avenues and it doesn't seriously affect my living a "normal" life. (Although, it currently fills my Diary with Alan Rickman images and prose.)

I've seen much worse out there. I think we all have. (Celebrities are often the focus of true obsessions - no, I'm not a stalker. Alan lives too far away. JUST KIDDING!)

I have no idea where all this is leading too or what I wanted to say about Obsessive Disorders. I guess, having seen a budding Obsession in another recently, I just felt the need to write all this down. Maybe, it'll help someone who reads this to rethink their motives and actions in a different light; and maybe, if they need it, they'll seek help.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->