Super Bug

2003-12-18 at 6:25 p.m.


Yesterday, the girl child came home from school with a headache and a low grade fever of 100.4 degrees. (That's Ferenheight for all the Europeans who read this). She usually does this when the flu is making it's rounds. She'll run a low grade fever for a day then she'll be right back to normal. She's got a great immune system, unlike her younger sibling or myself.

I figured I'd keep her home from school the next day (today)seeing as it was the last day before Winter Holiday anyways.

She woke up this morning and was running a fever of 103.8. Tylenol wouldn't get it below 102.9. We were at the doctors office by 11:30.

Seems she caught this Super Flu bug that's going around. They gave her some Ibuprofen on top of the Tylenol and the fever came all the way down to 99.8. (I didn't know you could take those two meds together).

She was given a double dose of antibiotics, (seems this bug is resistant to the usual dosage) and said that if she wasn't showing signs of improvement by Saturday I was to call the doc at her house. They've already had to hospitalize a few people around here for this bug.

I hope the girl child's system is as strong as I think it is. Otherwise this is gonna be a real bad Yule. It's ironic. I was worried about the younger child, because of his chronic asthma, and about myself, with my diabetes getting this bug. We were supposed to be the ones in the higher risk category. I hope this means she has a better chance of fighting it.

Right about now, I'm wishing that Madam Pomfrey could pay our house a visit. I bet the wizarding world has a cure for this bug. Being the muggle that I am though, I'll put my stock in the doctors (and some healing energies from myself and anyone else who wants to throw some our way......).

It'll probably be a few days before I get back here. I'll let you know what's going on.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->