No work and All Play (almost)

2009-03-09 at 10:10 a.m.


Took the kids to one of the nearby Bigger Goddess Forsaken Cities yesterday. It was my one day off and I put off installing a ceiling fan and a new bathroom light fixture. (Actually, I told my brother he had the whole day free from obligatory man things that his little sister is afraid to do herself. Electricity scares me....)

My intent was to get some more Christmas shopping done. Every year I say I'm going to do this early, and every year I'm running around the week before the holiday losing my mind. This year, I'm really doing it. Hopefully it will make the holiday season more enjoyable, but I have a feeling I'm going to miss the last minute frenetic activity.

I managed to get exactly two presents. (Well, technically three, but two of those go together as a set even though I had to buy them seperately.) So far I've managed to procure about half of my list. My problem is that I only have one day off of work and it's Sunday so I have to take the kid's with me or they'll know I've gotten something for them. We all know what happens when my young'uns think I have stuff secreted away from their viewing pleasure; silent forays into the Forbiden Kingdom of Mom's Space to look in all the over-packed recesses of hidden treasures. (Overly packed purely because the recesses are so tiny.) I'm planning on getting a flat screen TV for the Boy child and have NOOO idea where I'm going to to put THAT. I hate to ask Mom to hide it for me. Her hiding places are caverness although no less over packed. Treasures have a way of going in and then spontaneously transporting to an etheral deminsion to which there is no timely return.

Needless to say, the present buying wasn't much. We did get to eat at Osaka's Japanese Steakhouse. The Boy Child loves anything Japanese, the Girl Child loves the Habachi and I love the plum wine.(Not to mention Wasabi. I loves me some Wasabi!) We were also going to catch a movie, since Goddess Forsaken Town doesn't have a theater. (A small play house yes, a movie theater, no.) Unfortunately the only movie all of us could agree on wasn't playing till 8:05 and we had a two hour drive back home on a school night while still adjusting to the lost hour of Daylight Savings Time. So we opted for Books-A-Million instead. We left for home seven books heavier. One for the Boy Child (he has really expensive taste in books,) two for The Girl Child and four for me. (I'm so cheaply entertained!) Two crime/thrillers and two historical fictions set in the Tudor times. There seems to be an over abundance of these today. (Yea, for me!) I went from having no reading material to having a total of seven in line behind "Getting My Think On" (which I'm almost done with.) And yes, golfwidow I remember the Florida Orange Bird!

drinking: Leaded with cream and Slpenda
listening to: President Obama lifting restrictions on funding embryonic stem cell research
thinking: Deep thoughts










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->