Counting My Blessings

2005-01-23 at 8:41 p.m.


Today was my day off from work and guess how I spent it? That's right; working.

We have a new girl at work (she's been there about three months) and she's worse than Harpy Lady used to be. I didn't think anyone could be worse than Harpy Lady. I was wrong. Very wrong.

We're working quickly to get rid of this one. So quickly in fact, that She's got to know what's going on and I assume that's the reason that she called me two hours into her shift to say that she wasn't a good people person today and could I please come in and relieve her so she could go home.

Of course I did. I was afraid of the back lash she would inflict on her fellow worker, Young Lady, if I decided not to.

The Boss Lady was apologetic that I had to work on my day off, but I would rather go in than to let a disgruntled employee stay at work and damage customer relations (and probably run an open drawer all night long) or have The Boss Lady have to go in and finish the shift.

The Boss Lady and The Boss Lady's Husband are having a very bad time right now. And that, is an understatement of major proportions.

Not this past Saturday, but the one before that, They found out that The Boss Lady's Husband has pancreatic cancer. It's mastacised (sp?) and has spread to his liver already. It's fourth stage. The last stage.

The prognosis isn't good.

The Boss Lady and The Boss Lady's Husband are The Bears parents. My mother and father in-law. Well, ex in-laws, but they still feel like family. We still regard each other as family. The kids still call them Grandma and Grandpa and they have no intention of changing our relationship just because I divorced their son.

I cherish their presence in our lives and our world's much richer with them in it.

I feel so helpless.

The Boss Lady is trying to be strong for her husband (and she IS such a strong woman) but you can see her whole world slowly starting to tip over and shatter. It's hard watching her go through this. It hurts. It's hard watching him go through this, trying to be strong for her.

It's only been a day over a week since the news but it already feels like a lifetime. They've told their kids that are here with them and their siblings and her parents. They've told everyone but The Bear. The Boss Lady can't bring herself to call him and neither can The Boss Lady's Husband. She's afraid that her anger towards her step-son will spill over her slowly crumbling wall surrounding her emotions. I'm not sure what The Boss Lady's Husband is feeling about his youngest son, but he doesn't want to have to tell The Bear. So I told them I would.

I'll probably have to call him in the next day or two. I'm not sure how I feel about that. One part of me wants him to come home and make amends with his Dad before it's too late. One part of me really wishes that he just stays away.

I knew I'd have to see him again one day when whatever it was that made him leave was laid to rest, but I never expected it to be this soon or under such horrible circumstances.

I still feel so helpless. I'm going to go and light another candle and send some more healing energies his way. If anyone out there wants to light a candle or put him on a prayer list or do whatever it is their connection to the Divine leads them to do at times like this, it would be appreciated.

It's all I know to do.

Well, tomorrow's school and I have to go and get the young 'uns all prepared to meet the outside world in the morning. Brightest blessings to everyone out there.

drinking: Diet Pepsi
listening to: The precious sound of my children being children
thinking: Time passes so quickly when you're not paying attention to it










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->