Sounds of Comfort

2003-08-04 at 9:55 p.m.


This is for cornflake1 who needs a good hug:

I know, it's not Snape, but Rwwwr!

________________________________________

Kudos to tattodnanny for her excellent grades.

________________________________________

Today was a very boring day at work. Which was pretty good because it enabled me to sit outside and listen to the rain as it fell on the metal overhang.

I love listening to this paticular sound. Not the soft smattering of a gentle shower, but the hammering of a torential downpour.

I don't know why, but it always makes me feel comforted and safe. I can remember being quite young and laying awake at night listening to such storms, all snuggled up in my bed, with only my head poking out of the covers. I can remember feeling like I was in the safest place in the whole world and that nothing could hurt me, not even the powerful forces of nature that I was watching rage right outside my window.

I miss that sound. I can't hear it inside the house that I live in now. Not with all the isulation, double paned windows and double reinforced walls. I can't even hear the sounds of a hurricane passing around me when I'm inside my house.

We build houses to protect us from outside forces, be it man or the elements. So many of us have gotten used to living inside and adjusting the environment to better suit us that we miss the little things that help to replinish our soul, like hearing the torential downpour of a summer storm hitting a tin roof.

I'm going to bed now, all snuggled up in blankets with my head sticking out and with the window open, so I can hear the sound of comfort, safety and my childhood.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->