Nasty Virus II

2004-03-21 at 9:30 a.m.


Oh what a week it's been.

I finally got the virus thing all cleaned up and can once again see pictures on my pc. I love the new pop up blocker (which now blocks the parasite that keeps hijacking my homepage and driving me crazy...er) and just in case another parasite gets in, I love my spyware eliminator that promptly gets it back out.

The boy child got a nasty virus as well. A week ago Sunday night, he started throwing up,having diarrhea and running a fever. After three days of not eating anything and barely drinking enough to make Mom stop harping about needing to drink something, I got an emergency visit to a doctor.

Not his doctor mind you. No, his doctor was closed on the Wednesday I called. His doctors office who won't take appointments on Monday because they're too busy, and are closed every Friday (I guess they want that long weekend). Now they're closed on Wednesday. I guess my kids will now have to limit the days they get sick to Tuesdays and Thursdays. Of course, the office is so busy on those two days that the children will have to give me a weeks advance notice so that I can make an appointment on a Tuesday or Thursday of the FOLLOWING week. (End rant)

I call my Mothers doctor who has seen me and my daughter before (because, you know, our doctors office was CLOSED!) and told them the situation and that I'm scared that he's fast becoming dehydrated. They asked if he's ever been there before and I said - direct quote, notice the quotation marks - "I'm not sure, but I think maybe he has." Well, the nice receptionist says bring him on in and she'll work him into the schedule. Great, thinks I. I call in Lady Bimbo to cover my shift (did I mention, I was at work at this point?) and go collect my youngest child and take him to my mothers doctors' office.

No one bothered to tell me the doctors moved their offices to another location. (Including my brother whom I got the phone number from.) So, twenty minutes finding a public phone to use, only to find it doesn't work. Fortunately, the first person who walked by me out side the convenient store hearing me curse to beat the band and stopped long enough to inform me that the phone hasn't worked in months, also knew where the doctors' new place of practice was located.

We get there and I sign him in and the receptionist asks if we have an appointment. Even though I gave the childs name over the phone, I fully expected to have no one else informed of the impromptu visit. I recount my earlier conversation with the other receptionist (I never saw another one there) and was rewarded with a smile and the blondest "Oh! Ok!" and please have a seat.

Fourty-five minutes later, she looks up and asks me if he has ever been here before because she can't find his records. I reiterate my earlier declaration and she says, "Oh, I don't know if we can see him them. Let me see if I can find out."

Another fourty-five minutes later, she bubbles that one of the doctors will be able to see him after all, but will I please fill out this monstrous stack of medical information dating back to my anscestors around the time of Christ?

ANOTHER fourty-five minutes later and we actually get to see a doctor. And to his credit, I liked him. (I don't like doctors on principle, so this is a good thing.) He gives the boy child a shot in the ass, a prescription for an antibiotic and a nausea elixer. We are then set free to return to the real world where time actually exisits once more.

We got home, the child falls asleep and wakes up a few hours later with a sembalance of the boy we used to know.

Friday, the girl child comes home from school and promtly vomits on my feet before running into the bathroom where her bowels give an impressive impersonation of The Niagra Falls.

This time, I'm armed with medication.....

I'll save my Ostara tales for tomorrow.

Adieu.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->