Hurricanes

2004-09-04 at 8:29 p.m.


I'm up in the panhandle of Florida. I live (slightly off of) and work off a main road that goes straight up to Alabama or leads to a main interstate that goes west and east.

All the people that have been evacuating the eastern coast and southern coastal parts of the state, I swear, have all been coming through Goddess Forsaken Town to get to wherever it is they're going.

And Goddess Forsaken Town seems to throw them all into a confused state of mind (Could you help me? I think I'm lost. Am I still going North/East/West?}

This is actually not a problem for me. I understand how they must be feeling; forced to leave their homes and seek refuge in a relatives home or an emergency shelter if they can't make it that far before the bad weather hits. This, I am all very sympathetic too and try all that I can to help make their journey easier. No, the out of towners are not my problem.

The locals are. I think they've lost whatever little part of their brains they had to begin with. I had to go to the local place of commerce today to get some weekly groceries and the place was filled with all the locals buying everything in a can they could lay thier hands on. It was the proverbial madhouse.

Maybe it's because I grew up in Tampa Bay and got quite used to hurricanes coming through our allyway, but I just don't loose my mind everytime one seems to be headed toward us.

Through the course of the year, I make sure there is what I loveingly refer to as our emergency stash safely stored away for just this type of occurance. Canned and dry provisions, lots of candles, batteries, radios, ect., ect., ad nauseum. No reason to have to go out at the last minute and fight the teaming madmen in pursuit of that last can of vienna sausages.

Then I watch the news. Something that usually makes me feel more safe as the story unfolds, not panic prone. The way I see it, Hurricane Frances has been downgraded all the way to a level two. It's got to go across the state to get to the Gulf and then it will most likely move up towards us. Or not.

From my past life experiences with hurricanes, I'm expecting a load of rain on late Monday night or Tuesday morning. I don't really expect much else.

I mean three weeks ago, Bonnie caused widespread local panic among the people of Goddess Forsaken Town and we didn't even get an inch of rain. It toatally missed us and if everyone here had been keeping up with the weather channel (as they said they did) they would have known it wasn't going to hit us.

I have come to the conclusion that panicing gives them something to focus on beside the boring times of this burg and they run with it. But, damn. It sure throws a wrench into my shopping pleasure.

Well, I have to get up at four in the AM (I get to sleep in an hour - it's Sunday) so I better get off to bed.

Adieu.

drinking: Orange Sunset wine cooler
listening to: my cat Grouchy meowing to be let in my room
thinking: I really don't want to work in the morning










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->