Old Time Radio Shows

2003-09-08 at 8:59 p.m.


Tonight was a strange one. It was so dead at work tonight. (Course I haven't worked a Monday night in a long while)

The Bear had gotten some old time radio shows on CD from the library and we ended up listening to several of the disks when the work was done but we couldn't close shop. We started out with Amos an' Andy, switched over to Jack Benny and ended with a couple of Suspence episodes. It was great!

Yes, these shows were from a different time than the one I grew up in, but I can remember sitting down with my parents when I was really little and watching some of those old reruns when they were on TV.

I can remember Mom letting us camp out on the living room floor with all the lights out and letting us listen to the scarey tales pouring forth from the radio. (Yes, there was a show on the radio when I was little!)

I would have thought that listening to these shows (comercials and all) would have made me feel nostalgic. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that the effect was uplifting instead. I can't even say why. It just felt so good to laugh at the humor played out on those CDs.

Customers came in and out during the playing of the CDs and some knew of the shows and some didn't, but they all joined in and listened for a little while and all got a few good laughs before going on with their lives. Some of the older customers got a giggle from remembering when the show was new. Some of the younger ones got a giggle from an unexpected punchline. I got amused from watching all of them giggling.

It was a strange night tonight, but it was a good one.

drinking:
listening to:
thinking:










prev
| next

Most recent entries

Something New - 2009-06-04

Lunch for Breakfast - 2009-05-18

Jeans and a T-shirt - 2009-05-13

Lost Weeks - 2009-05-11

Happy Birthday to Me! - 2009-04-22

Navigation

newest
older
email
host
guestbook
profile
Rings

<-- | ?? | alanrickman | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | de-sade | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | dogma | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | geoffreyrush | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | jasonisaacs | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | malfoy | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | pagan | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | parents | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | quills | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slash | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | slytherin | ## | -->
<-- | ?? | snape | ## | -->